Martin Clunes Calls “Doc Martin” Series 7 Scripts the Best Ever

Catch the off-the-cuff, six-minute video interview with Martin Clunes about “Doc Martin” Series 7, conducted by What’s on TV.     

Many fans found Series 6 too serious and grim. When asked if Series 7 would have moreScreen Shot 2015-09-21 at 9.29.03 AM comedy, Martin states:

“There was always comedy . . . but we explored the emotional boundaries, which we needed to do at the time, but, yeah, we’re bringing a bit more comedy back.”

He also said: “The scripts this year are rock solid. I think the best we’ve ever had.”

View the entire video and read the article at:  http://www.whatsontv.co.uk/doc-martin/news/exclusive-martin-clunes-on-doc-martin-i-love-trying-to-punish-this-awful-man-video

In my own opinion, if Martin’s statement about the scripts holds true, the season should be phenomenal because I’ve always admired the scripts. My favorite writer is Jack Lothian. Remember the balcony scene with Mrs. Tischell and the “Doc” that he wrote? A classic, for sure. I was pleased to learn that Jack has written some episodes this time. I do miss Ben Bolt, who directed most of the episodes in Series 1 – 5 and wrote a good many wonderful scripts himself.

“Doc Martin” is already airing in the UK on ITV on Monday evenings at 9 p.m.

Acorn TV, a streaming service, will broadcast Series 7 in America beginning Monday, October 5. For a small subscription fee, members can watch episodes of “Doc Martin,” as well as other British shows, 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

I’m sure I speak for all of the Doc’s insanely addicted fans when I say we are soooo ready for Season 7.

9 thoughts on “Martin Clunes Calls “Doc Martin” Series 7 Scripts the Best Ever

  1. Series 7 sounds very exciting Iam so looking forward to seeing it. Australia seems to be very slow in realising any information, but Iam waiting and I will enjoy the series when it is eventually aired.

  2. Karen, which episode are you in? The whole crew from Martin on down seem to really enjoy making this series. Thanks for sharing this video!

    • Hi Maggie, I will be in Episode 3. The scene takes place in the middle of the street. You’ll see Louisa meet up with a blond girl, who is babysitting James (in a stroller), and Penhale comes up with two ice cream cones. I have on a blue skirt and top and am sitting on what looks like a curb in front of a shop.

      Yes, the entire company gave me the impression that they love making the show.

  3. I went back to look at the scene you are in. The previous 2 times I’ve watched this episode, I’ve focused mainly on the 3 principal characters involved. This time I spotted you! What a fun opportunity for you….one you’ll not forget, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

